Mission Statement

The Brewster Kaleidoscope Society is an organization

which provides a forum for artists, collectors, and retailers

to promote and perpetuate kaleidoscopes

as a unique art form.

Activities

  • News Scope Newsletter: The newsletter contains articles about current happenings about all things kaleidoscope. Who, what, where, when and how of kaleidoscopes are featured in the newsletter articles.
  • Annual Convention: The annual BKS conventions allows artists to unveil their newest designs and gives collectors and retailers the chance to get a first look at these designs. Collectors have a chance to meet and learn from world renowned artists from many countries. Artists also have a chance to meet retailers and to present their latest work to enhance the retailer’s inventory. Everyone who attends the convention has a chance to participate in the fun of traditional and new events each year.
  • Website: Promotes communication and public relations concerning kaleidoscopes. It also provides research information and history of kaleidoscopes. Allows members of the Brewster Kaleidoscope Society to communicate their enthusiasm about kaleidoscopes.

Governance

  • Organization: Effective January 1, 2013 the Brewster Kaleidoscope Society began operating as a member governed corporation under the statutes of Missouri. The goal of the 2013 reorganization was to form a society that preserved the traditions and activities of former Brewster Society and the Brewster Kaleidoscope Society and be managed by a leadership team comprised of members elected by the general membership.
  • Nine Member Board of Directors: President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Director at Large-Convention Coordinator, Director at Large – International, Director at Large – Web Supervisor, Director at Large – undesignated, Director at Large – undesignated

Meetings

  • Annual Meeting: The Annual meeting as required by the By-laws is held during the Annual Convention.
  • Board of Director Meetings: The Board of Directors meets monthly by telephone conference call.
    • The meeting is scheduled for the first Thursday of the month and the call begins at 8:00 PM ET/7:00 PM CT/6:00 PM MT/5:00 PM PT.
    • The call-in number for the monthly board phone meeting is at Free Conference Call: (712) 775 7035 access code: 897066#.
    • Scheduled phone conference meeting dates on the first Thursday of each month.
    • All meetings are open to all members of the Brewster Kaleidoscope Society.